Apa Cina Mau? (What Do the Chinese community in Malaysia want now?)

We want UMNO to remain relevant to the Malays and to be the voice of the rural and working class Malays. We want, well, speak for myself :

I want UMNO to represent the voice and the rights of the Malay people who have yet to realize they are in the 21st century and that they are not a separate species from the rest of humankind.

I want UMNO to stop allowing MCA and MIC to bleed them off of seats and to axe off the MCA and MIC who have been poaching power and seats riding on the back of the strength of UMNO. Where would MCA and MIC really be if they did not piggy back on the strength of UMNO all these years?

I want UMNO to stop being so accommodating to MCA because MCA does not represent the voice of the Chinese people and are only taking UMNO for a ride by making the BN believe they have the support of the Chinese and urban community.

I cannot see MCA and Gerakan’s relevance in today’s age and time. But I do see MIC’s relevance in their particular niches. BN can support MIC in those areas through financial support and other campaigning aid when election comes around.

But there is no need for UMNO to give MIC a claim to fame on their BN platform or give MIC disproportionate claim to power in the matters of the nation’s policies. The Indian community would be better off if they identified themselves as Malaysian than they would as Indians needing “protection” from big-brother.

The idea of needing a political party to represent your ethnic voice is obsolete and damaging to our self-esteem as a nation.

Having said that MCA , like Gerakan, is totally irrelevant and that MIC is relevant only to a very limited extent I must say definitely see UMNO’s relevance and legitimate representation of certain demographics of the Malay community.

You have to be able to see the trees from the forest. BN’s strength comes from UMNO, yes, and that’s one part of the equation. But UMNO, by itself, as a political party, has a right to champion and defend its own ideologies and rhetoric, even if we don’t necessarily agree with them.

Sure, BN cheated but NOT BECAUSE it is UMNO-led or because it is a BN-coalition : BN “cheated” , or rather, with malicious intent, legally took advantage of technical loopholes, simply because, as an organism, it is willing to do WHATEVER IT TAKES FOR ITS SURVIVAL.

That willingness to play to win is a form of virtue in my terms and if any organization wants to succeed it’d better be willing to have a do-or-die attitude.

I don’t think BN is as bad as people think they are. Childish tactics to win parliament is a lot better than genocide. As long as there is no economic sabotage or social disruption I think all is fair in love and war.

I know plenty of you who have colored yourself with prejudice and hatred to such an extent you cannot even fathom the rationale of what I am saying here. You will jump in your pants thinking I am so “stupid” to not blame BN and UMNO.

But that is what my training has taught me : stop projecting, do not blame, take 100% responsibility, be the change I want to see, do whatever it takes and bless that which I want.

I will end by saying I appreciate and respect UMNO’s legitimate right to represent the voice of its community even when the rest of you who are more “educated” think your intellect is superior to theirs.

I will also add that I view with full compassion the fears of a certain demographic of Malays and I urge you all to view their fears with compassion rather than judge them by your own standards of competency.

Finally, I,  formerly known as Chinese and Malaysian but now known simply as a Penangite will answer WHAT DO CINA MAU with this : Cina mau sama-sama cari makan, dapat meluangkan masa dengan keluarga, dapat hidup harmoni dan jalan-jalan cari makan / makan angin.

Personally, I want UMNO to redeem the pride of the Malays by empowering them economically. I want UMNO to provide a psychological comfort and sense of security to its little children. I want UMNO to have a solid administration and governance of their strongholds.

And I want UMNO to know it’s time to let MCA and MIC go even if it means losing the cabinet and focusing instead on the progress and development of the rural Malays.

1 Comment

Filed under Malaysia

One response to “Apa Cina Mau? (What Do the Chinese community in Malaysia want now?)

  1. Ewah ewah… pepandai jer dia karang… tah betul tah tidak.
    .. hehe gurau jer … best cerita nie .. thanks.

Leave a Reply

