Should we throw more money into public school systems?

This was a comment I wrote on Paul Krugman’s article in the New York Times.

October 9th, 2009
12:32 am

I know Malaysia is in no way an advanced nation for comparison but then again the Information Age does level the playing field. What I’m trying to say is that education here is controlled and fully funded by Federal government but it has the same problems.

I love most of the things you talk about but I really don’t think more budgets will solve the problem. Education should not be controlled social function in the first place, but a nurtured one. I’ve been following the state of American education since reading The Closing of the American Mind and I see some parallels but IMHO our problems are (a) an entitlement mentality in combination with OR (b) a focus on the utilitarian role of learning instead of a focus on higher order thinking.

Throwing more money and having tighter controls – just look at Malaysia. Most of the money for education is spent on managing the system that manages the schooling. Throwing more money at it would be doing more of the same.If I were an educator or a school and I didn’t have enough money but enough vision, I’d raise my own instead of waiting for more budget. Thanks for the post.

I’m not going to make this an open debate but if anyone has an informed opinion about the direction education and learning is headed in tandem with developments in 21st Century economics, feel free to comment and share about what I think.

1 Comment

Filed under Rethinking Parenting & Teaching

One response to “Should we throw more money into public school systems?

  1. Shalom

    After reading Paul Krugman’s article, I’m a bit surprised that he equated public schooling with the rise of the American economy in the early 1920s. How many % of American men and women had college degrees then?

    The rise of America in the early 20th century began much earlier in the 2nd half of 19th century with a self-directed population of generally unschooled but highly literate people who drove the innovations and enterprise that benefited from a labor supply available from mass migration.

Leave a Reply

